Page 1 of 2

Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:29 pm
by CaptainJ2400
Hi ho, Kermit the Frog here...er...wait, that's wrong. Scratch that, reverse it.

Hey all, me again, just wanted to contribute my Ambassador Class mesh. I saw there were only three here, and I think mine could be a fair addition, I dunno. I tried to go directly off of the schematics Bernd Schneider had on his site, but with some views, things didn't quite match up. Didn't discover it until it was too late, especially with the lower decks of the engineering hull. But hey, I gave it a fair shot.

As usual, it's a .obj which is the only format I can export and then actually put final touches on. At any rate, here are some images (conveniently in the sizes required for the site...haha) for evaluation.

If accepted, though, I'm working on an image for the news section. Thanks for the consideration!

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:44 am
by Chainsaw_NL
That's affirmative captain! Looks pretty cool. What do you mean it's too late? You found the plans 2 late? It's never too late :lol:

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:52 am
by CaptainJ2400
I mean that I found that there were discrepancies between different views. The side and ventral views didn't match up 100% so there are some details in the engineering hull that aren't particularly accurate.

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 1:55 am
by CaptainJ2400
Oh, and here's an obligatory newsfeed image for if she's accepted.

And Edit: Here's the link to the file: https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0BzqM8j ... M2Zk&hl=en

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 4:13 pm
by Erik_Timmermans
Hi

Looks pretty sweet! I'm on a very poor connection right now, will look at it again later this week!

Cheers!

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:21 pm
by CaptainJ2400
It's come to my attention that somehow, several surfaces had their normals flipped during triangulation. I don't know why or how but there it is. It has to be rendered with surfaces two-sided, unfortunately =/

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 10:17 pm
by Chainsaw_NL
Yeah i got the same and even with "force 2 sided" on couldn't get it fixed. Manualy flipping vertices doesn't work either. They all occur on a rounded part of a window. Might be the cutting out part that needs to relax.

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:10 am
by CaptainJ2400
This makes no sense to me =/ it's working fine on my computer, as the renders show.

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:59 pm
by Chainsaw_NL
First off. I'm not saying there is anything wrong with the model but with the 3ds max ojb import (see example) Maybe someone knows how to fix it.

http://img521.imageshack.us/i/ambassadoro.jpg

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 9:57 pm
by CaptainJ2400
Okay, so I typically don't triangulate the surfaces unless I have to, but apparently the exports do that automatically. I manually triangulated them all and reexported. Perhaps that'll help? https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0BzqM8j ... NTQ1&hl=en

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:13 am
by Chainsaw_NL
Triangulated manualy...... :shock: OMG

But as you can see buddy it worked :lol: Awesome mesh. I don't know why it did that because on import it automaticaly retriangulates the mesh. After importing i added the illumination and glow.

http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/5089 ... rclass.png

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 4:10 am
by CaptainJ2400
Well, in the program I use, I usually leave all the surfaces as they are, some can have up to as many as, oh, 10 vertices or more in the mesh. When I export as a .obj, it triangulates the surfaces automatically, and it worked fine when I used it, but I guess it wasn't so friendly with other programs. So, I chose how I wanted them triangulated and reexported.

I use AC3D to make my models, then I open the .obj in PoseRay to add spec maps, bump maps, and all those other goodies because AC3D only allows one texture at a time. Anyway, I'm just glad it worked this time.

Also, that render makes her look fantastic, what program do you use? AC3D is only about $50, and PoseRay and POVRay are both freeware, so I've been doing all my work on a super small budget compared to some people I know.

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:35 pm
by Chainsaw_NL
That render is made in 3ds Max. I used 2 lights with area shadows for the scene lights and a few blue lights on the warp glow. Also added self illuminated materials and video post glow (see : viewtopic.php?f=2&t=415)

I still havent figured out why it did that with you old model. It might have been the vertex normal aswell.

Brilliant mesh though, did you PM erik to put it online?

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:12 pm
by CaptainJ2400
Erik_Timmermans wrote:Hi

Looks pretty sweet! I'm on a very poor connection right now, will look at it again later this week!

Cheers!

And yeah...my renderer is freeware and doesn't have those fancy tools lol

Re: Ambassador Class Mesh

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:23 pm
by Erik_Timmermans
I haven't forgotten :). Last week was busy with work and next week looks the same. I'll do my best!